top of page

What's your number? Are you a "Cosmoholic"?

7 days. Yes, that is the amount of days in a week. Congratulations, you passed Grade 1. But, and this is important, it is also the record number of days that I have gone without wearing makeup. And so, I ask you my dear reader, the dreaded question – what is your number?

Are you a daily, or date-night-only user? We have all seen them, those strange beings at the gym who float effortlessly by with their blush-brushed cheeks, and mascara-popping manoeuvres. I beg of you, who wears makeup to the gym? My incredulity, over this disturbing phenomenon lead me to question my own use (or abuse), of the chemical enhancement. There are often times when I have unnecessarily laid on the lashes and lined the lips, and why? With renewed discussions over what categorises you as a “cosmoholic” (person addicted to cosmetics), should we be giving our faces a break from the plump and polish?

One in three women in the UK refuse to leave the house without makeup. A recent article analysed the psychology behind our desire for wearing makeup – from an evolutionary standpoint. Whether it is making your eyes appear bigger and glossier, your skin more glowing and your lips more luscious, the benefits of makeup can be pinned down to two core points, looking healthier and younger. Since women’s fertility is linked to youth and health, makeup is the tool to promote impressions that are consistent with those characteristics. Our (sometimes obsessive) desire to wear makeup, is therefore perhaps not as superficial as we think, but rather a deeply rooted biological drive. Or maybe we just want to “look good and feel good.”

A recent study tested the perceptions of how much makeup is deemed the most attractive. It was concluded that the respondents thought the ladies looked best when they were wearing just 60 percent as much makeup as they had actually applied. Maybe then it is not just the attitude towards makeup, but rather the amount?

Either way, I neither admire, nor have animosity towards, they Kylies (makeup) or Kendals (natural) among us. To me, it is not the amount of makeup that is the problem, but rather the motivation behind its application. In the words of a very talented local makeup artist: “makeup is important but it shouldn’t become a mask. It is good to have a bolder smile with a little red lipstick, but you should feel beautiful without it too.” My point, dear reader, is that whether it is your too-big cheeks, too-small eyes or uneven lips (my description of my face), I hope that we can all use makeup to enhance, and not undermine, our natural beauty.

And to prove that I am definitely not against makeup, check out the makeup tutorial with Zandi Loots under FIT AND FINE.

bye for now

xx

RECENT POST
bottom of page